Citizens for Juvenile Justice
From our Twitter feed:
Subscribe to our eNewsletter


CfJJ’s Leadership Celebration 2010

December 2, 2010

CfJJ’s Leadership Celebration 2010 drew a sell-out crowd of more than 130 guests at the Boston Bar Association to feast on hors d’oeuvres prepared and served by students from Madison Park High School and to honor and learn from leaders in our field.

Leadership forum coordinators and speakersCfJJ’s Executive Director, Lael Chester, led off the program by underlining the huge need for juvenile justice reform in Massachusetts. She pointed out that the Commonwealth has also made some heartening recent progress in several areas, including reductions in detention, improved juvenile defense, and long-overdue changes at the Probation Department.

Honoree Ned Loughran was introduced with the assistance of a DYS video made in 1989 that included Ned, then Commissioner of the Department of Youth Services. Ned is now the Executive Director of the Council of Juvenile Correctional Administrators. Lael Chester presented him with CfJJ’s Leadership Award honoring him for “his extraordinary leadership in juvenile justice here in Massachusetts and beyond”.

Keynote speaker, Dr. Laurence Steinberg (described by CfJJ Board Member Tom Grisso as “one of the three psychologists in the country whose work has had the greatest impact in the field”), said that the time has come to abandon the idea that protecting public safety and helping kids are mutually exclusive goals.

This event was supported by Lead Sponsors Proskauer and Robert F. Kennedy Children’s Action Corps and by Sponsors Citizens Bank, Community Resources for Justice, Donoghue Barrett & Singal, Eliot Community Human Services, Justice Resource Institute, Massachusetts Behavioral Health Partnership, Massachusetts MENTOR, Spectrum Health Systems, Wainwright Bank, YouthBuild Boston, Adolescent Consultation Services, John C. Bartley, Children’s Services of Roxbury, Communities for People, The Key Program, and Old Colony Y.

Photos from CfJJ's Leadership Celebration 2010